Day 26ish – Am I behind?

Posted: November 27, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

This trying to write a blog post every day for a month is hard. As you can see I think I’m a bit late with this one. It is already Nov. 27 so this should be Day 27 not 26ish but I’m holding onto the ish because my clock read 12:03 when I started it. So tomorrow/today I’ll be back on track.

Coming up with something to write about isn’t easy, even though I have said that I have a overactive good imagination. And that part is true. The part that’s difficult is the actual sitting down to write. Life is busy-ness, you know. Even if all you do all day is sit and watch television, it takes up time to do that. Time that could be used to do other things. But since I knit, if I’m watching TV I’m already doing one other thing. I’m knitting. And that takes a lot of time.

A sweater is impossible to make in a day, just as Rome wasn’t built in a day. I think the fastest I’ve ever made a sweater and this was knitting almost non-stop – just potty, tea, and food breaks – was three days. But that is a marathon I don’t wish to repeat. It’s funny how far away a deadline is until it looms over you. I had three months to make that sweater but I procrastinated until I looked at the calendar and freaked out. The biggest problem in making a sweater in three days is that you over-estimate your abilities over and over again. “Oh, I’ve got lots of time. I’ve knit a sweater in three days.” But you forget that sleeping became an option.

That sweater was a birthday present a friend wanted to give to his mother so he commissioned me to make it for him. And, no, it wasn’t just a plain old stocking knit cardigan, it was a Fair Isle yoked sweater like these. Yeah. You can imagine the panic that set in when I got the call from Peter asking if his sweater would be finished on time. “Oh, yeah, no problem. I’m almost done.” I lied through my teeth as any good procrastinator has done. Then I drove like a maniac to the yarn store, bought the yarn and pretty much did nothing but knit for the whole three days. My cats were wondering if they would have to feed themselves. However his mother loved it but it almost killed me. I certainly almost killed anyone who came near me. But I was paid handsomely for it so it was a win/win.

For the knit Olympics a couple of years ago I took on the challenge of knitting a sweater in 14 days. I chose the Whisper cardigan because I thought it would be a true challenge in the spirit of the games. Knitting a sweater with all that ribbing and stocking knit in a small gauge was something I thought would take me a while. Nope, I was done in about ten days and that was leisurely knitting. The problem with that sweater was I enjoyed knitting it so I was happy to knit along on it for hours at a time. And because it really was simple construction it wasn’t as much of a challenge as I thought.

I’m trying to pick out a sweater to do for next years Olympics in Sochi, Japan. This time I’m thinking I want to do something with cables or a cable-like design so I was pleased to get the new Twist Collective Winter ezine in my email today. In perusing it I found quite a few things I wouldn’t mind knitting and I may just do several small items instead of a whole sweater. For instance, I love these mittens (and I love the name, Pixie Farts. Hahahaha). I think these would be interesting to knit and also fun to wear. And I love the colour scheme.

I also love these mittens. Moggies is a name my Mum used to use all the time for a cat. Having owned or having been owned,depending on your perspective, cats all my life, I appreciate the work that went into designing these. I think I would have to knit the cats in orange and white in honour of my boys. And it might even be fun to try to make one a tortoiseshell. So cute and so many possibilities for colour combinations. Love it!

The winter collection at Twist Collection has a lot going for it. There are many amazing patterns. Of course, this happens to be one of my favourite websites when I’m looking for a pattern so I’m a teeny bit biased. I haven’t bought a pattern from them yet due to budgetary considerations and I’m trying to work through all the patterns I have in my queue before I buy any new ones but that may change this time around. There are so many delicious looking designs and a lot of patterns that anyone could wear and look great in. Things like this, this, and this. Nice sweaters with interesting designs, although someone like me who has a bigger…um…derierre might not want all those cables marching across the back of their sweater as shown on the second sweater. Still it’s quite beautiful.

I think I want to make some of the accessories for my kids for Christmas. I had already planned on making them things and was looking around for an interesting hat pattern. I think this one will fit the bill quite nicely. I think my eldest daughter will really like that hat just as I’m sure my youngest daughter will love this hoodie. In fact I think I would like to knit that for the next knit Olympics. It looks challenging enough and maybe with a bit of luck, I could crank it out in 14 days. Not sure with the hood how fast it would go, although it is a worsted weight so it should knit up pretty quickly. But then there is the pretty cable pattern up the front and around the top of the hood…Ah, what the heck, I think I’ll do it.

My other favourite website for patterns is Knitty.com. I’m sure there are a lot of people who are familiar with it. I just love this hat from their early fall collection. I love the fact it is done all in garter stitch but still manages to be interesting and fun. Face it an all garter stitch garment can look a little uninteresting at times but this hat is just perfect. I love the squared off top and the pointed brim. Adding some really funky buttons would just put it over the top for me. Of course, I would be tempted add a pompom but I do think that would be a bit too much. After all, I love the simplicity of it all.

I love this sweater, too, although I couldn’t wear it. Something about all those horizontal stripes especially across the bust makes me think that I wouldn’t really do that sweater justice. I think people would look at me and wonder what I was thinking. But for someone slimmer, like my daughters, I think this is a stunner.

I had thought I had this Christmas thing all sorted out for this year. I knew what I was going to make and approximately how long each item would take, give or take. I had it all scheduled and spreadsheeted out and colour coded and marked with highlighter and everything and now I can see I totally have to change things around. This is going to take some time. A spreadsheet isn’t made in a day. Ok, for some people it is but I’m not one of them. Doesn’t help that I don’t really understand them nor do I use them a lot but this time I thought I needed a better organizational system than a sticky note on a box of yarn.

I had also thought that all I needed from the yarn store was a couple of balls of Noro Silk Garden to make my daughter a pair of handwarmers and, maybe, a hat to go with them. So already, as detailed in this post, my yarn addiction is starting to get out of control. I mean, I will get the Noro…probably…maybe…if I don’t get too high on lanolin fumes and forget it during the wool frenzy. Wool frenzy is kind of like a shark feeding frenzy with less blood…well, maybe with less blood but certainly with no water and no one gets hurt…possibly. That last time wasn’t my fault.

What I am going to have to do is write out a list of the yarns needed to make some of these things, that is after I sort out which items I want to make. Then I’m going to have to give myself a strict talking to about buying yarn responsibly. I’m going to have to look at my face in the mirror and remind myself about the fact that my bank account is looking a little famished and that food, especially dog and cat food, is something that you really cannot do without. Food and lodging. Kind of need those things. I’m sure I could knit myself a house but it might be a little chilly on these cold Canadian winter nights. And I could knit some food-like items but they wouldn’t be very tasty. Food vs 100% cashmere…Well there is always Kraft Dinner…

Leave a Reply

