Day 30 – A cat needs a sweater like a dog needs a bicycle

Posted: December 1, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

First I’d like to give a big THANKS to those of you who have taken the time to read this here blog. When I started it as part of NoBloPoMo I had no illusions of actually writing a post every day but totally did not expect anyone to read one word of it. So the fact that some of you have and a number of you have decided to follow me well…*sob*…that just blows my mind. Thank you, thank you, thank you. You have kept me going.

Then I would like to say that I totally exceeded my expectations. As I said I so didn’t think I would be able to write a post a day for a month, and lets face it some of them were close calls and some were a little late, so the fact I did it is quite an accomplishment. I didn’t think I would have that much to say. Some people I know would be surprised I would say that considering they think I never shut up. So lets keep going and see where we end up, shall we?

I have two cats, Taang! and Eric. I had three but Mac passed away almost eight months ago. Still miss him. One thing I miss about him is that I could put sweaters on him and he didn’t mind. I thought I had a picture of him in one but I think it’s still on my phone. His brothers tend to get a bit testy if you try to put anything on them that’s not a blanket. Even then they can be a bit peculiar about that. They aren’t very open-minded those two. So even though I love the thought of knitting them sweaters like this. Trying to get it on them would result in wool carnage that would make even the staunchest knitter cry. Nevermind the blood.

I started to wonder about putting a sweater on a cat. Isn’t that a bit redundant? They have a nice furry coat and if it’s an outdoor cat the fur can be quite thick. But what if it’s an indoor/outdoor cat, does the fur still grow as thickly and then wouldn’t a sweater be advisable. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t like seeing cats outdoors and the number of feral cats in our neighbourhood alone is deplorable but realistically we are never going to get 100% of the people to keep their cats indoors so wouldn’t it be nice to at least keep them warm? But then that brings up a question of safety and would the cat be safe running around with a sweater on or would it get snagged on something. So not sure how practical it is to put a sweater on an indoor/outdoor cat.

All this got me thinking what other kind of attire is out there for our furry feline friends. And I found a whole host of fun things to dress your cat in. Hey, if dogs can get a little black dress, cats can have a fun beret, or a Santa hat. I may actually have to knit that. And these cats have to be the most patient I’ve ever seen. Mine would have shredded the hat before you could even click the shutter. But that Santa hat is so cute it would be worth the risk, I think. And just think of the cuteness if I knitted one for Taang! and Eric and Pete the dog. That would make a great Christmas card if I did that kind of thing. Which I don’t. But it would be cute anyway.

I do love this little vest and think it would be the ideal thing to give to someone who has one of the shorter haired breeds, like Siamese or the Sphynx or something like that. I would so knit it if I had less hairy cats but my boys have thick fur already. I also love this little knitted sweater and the cat that’s wearing it is kind of cute too. I’m starting to think I would like a kitten so that I could dress it up in that sweater. And to think that just yesterday I was thinking I didn’t want any more after these two go. Yeah, right. And I’m not going to buy any more yarn until I’ve used up all of my stash.

Ravelry is always a great place to find odd patterns. And I like this because it is adaptable for many different animals it seems. We have a bunny and she would probably appreciate a sweater. We try to reduce our expenses by keeping the house a little on the cool side and I think the bunny would rather we didn’t. A sweater might be just what she needs. She would look really cute in that. The thing I really like about this is the long legs and back. Taang! has arthritis in his hips so having something that covers them and keeps them warm is something that would be very practical for him. Definitely something to think about. That is after all the other stuff is done. By then he won’t need it because it will be August but then I can knit it for next winter.

I suppose if I started knitting clothes for my cats people would put me in a whole new category of “crazy cat lady”.
It’s funny how many patterns there are for dog clothes – tuxedos, dresses, sweaters, costumes, hats – you name it and there’s a pattern for it but for cats there really isn’t much choice. There are lots of blanket patterns and bed patterns which are really good, and I think it’s illegal to have a cat and not have a nice, soft bed for it, but not much in the way of apparel. I wonder if it’s because we have such a different view of cats that we think they are cute enough on their own without suiting them up. I would like to think that. My guys are.

And just in case you are wondering about the title of this post, you need to watch this.

And just because I was so proud of myself for being able to do a post a day, things conspired to make this post really late. Still I did thirty posts which is about twenty-nine more than I expected to make so that’s something.

Leave a Reply

